Advertise with The Big Takeover
Big Takeover Issue #83
News
MORE News >>
Subscribe to The Big Takeover

SUBSCRIBE NOW

Shop our Big Takeover store for back issues, t-shirts & CDs


Follow us on Tumblr Follow us on Google+

Follow The Big Takeover

NEWS: SoCal garage-punk band Beach Goons release new album hoodratscumbags

Beach Goons – Photo Credit: Suzi Moon
25 August 2018

Beach Goons – Photo Credit: Suzi Moon

SoCal garage-punk band Beach Goons released their long-awaited third album, hoodratscumbags August 24th via GRNDVW. They are also currently on a US tour that runs through the start of October. See Tour Dates below.

Hailing from San Diego’s Logan Heights neighborhood, Beach Goons was the brainchild of Pablo Cervantez, the band’s vocalist, guitarist, and sole constant member. Beach Goons started innocently enough with Cervantez and a couple friends picking up instruments and playing out, hitting up any place that would have them, from their middle school to Logan Heights’ library.

As the band grew, their sound evolved with them. Their early singles showed a brash, garage-indebted take on punk, but by the time of BoiSad, the edges began to smooth, and more of Beach Goons’ personality began poking through. For their new album, hoodratscumbags, Beach Goons didn’t rush things, instead spending the better part of two years work-shopping the songs until they became the most potent examples of what they wanted to express.

“Most of the songs were scrapped or I rewrote them,” says Cervantez of the writing process. “It was just going to be an EP, but it got to a point where we had enough songs for it to be an album.” The product of all that work is hoodratscumbags, which GRNDVW Recordings released today, August 24, and sees drummer Chris Moran and bassist David Orozco joining the ranks.

Across the album’s 10 songs, Beach Goons effortlessly blend genres, taking a bit from punk, surf, and even cumbia, to authentically express their lives and where they come from. “We’re from a Mexican community, we’re all Mexicans, and we really love showing it,” says Cervantez. “[Logan Heights] is the heart of Mexican culture, and the heart of Chicano culture, and I really want to emphasize this was our upbringing and this is who we are.”

“My family moved here, I’m third generation,” says Cervantez, “I just want to show those people that if you come from these streets, if you come from these hoods, you can do it too.” That sense of community, and Beach Goons’ sheer excitement, permeates the entirety of hoodratcumbags. It can be heard in songs such as “Chunti,” where Cervantez sings in Spanish and holds nothing back. It’s moments like these that show Beach Goons for what they are: a band that’s young, excited, and not afraid to show the world the full scope of themselves

hoodratscumbags at Spotify

Beach Goons — 2018 Tour Dates

Sat Aug 25 San Diego, CA The Irenic
Wed Sept 05 Albuquerque, MN Launchpad
Fri Sept 07 Springfield, MO FOH Lounge
Sat Sept 08 St. Louis, MO Blueberry Hill
Sun Sept 09 Indianapolis, IN Hoosier Dome
Mon Sept 10 Nashville, TN The End
Sept 14-16 Chicago, IL Riot Fest
Wed Sept 19 Columbus, Oh Big Room Bar
Thurs Sept 20 Lansing, MI Mac’s Bar
Fri Sept 21 Toronto, ON Sneaky Dees
Sat Sept 22 Buffalo, NY Sugar Hill
Sun Sept 23 Albany, NY Pauly’s Hotel
Tue Sept 25 Baltimore, MD Metro Gallery
Wed Sept 26 Boston, MA Middle East Upstairs
Thurs Sept 27 Brooklyn, NY Knitting Factory
Fri Sept 28 Philadelphia, PA Everybody Hits
Sat Sept 29 Norfolk, VA 37th And Zen
Sun Sept 30 Atlanta, GA Masquerade
Tue Oct 02 Austin, TX Barracuda
Wed Oct 03 Oklahoma, OK 89th Street
Thur Oct 04 Dallas, TX Three Links

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

 

comments powered by Disqus