Advertise with The Big Takeover
Big Takeover #85 - Vivian Girls
MORE Recordings >>
Subscribe to The Big Takeover


Shop our Big Takeover store for back issues, t-shirts & CDs

Follow us on Tumblr

Follow The Big Takeover

New Order - ∑(No,12k,Lg,17Mif) New Order + Liam Gillick: So it goes.. (Mute)

4 July 2019

∑(No,12k,Lg,17Mif) New Order + Liam Gillick: So it goes.. is the upcoming live album from New Order. This is a nostalgic driven set, and certainly with the recent fortieth anniversary celebrations of the Joy Division masterpiece, Unknown Pleasures, the timing on this release is perfect. In July 2017, New Order returned to Manchester’s Old Granada Studios for five memorable nights. It was here Joy Division made their first television appearance on the late Tony Wilson’s Granada Reports programme.
In September 1978 the band performed “Shadowplay”(Included below), although there is a slight misconception present in the title, So It Goes was Wilson’s previous TV spot, which the band never appeared on. Perhaps this is a tribute to that man who pushed them into the limelight, and on this release they are repaying that debt of gratitude with a strong emotionally-fired outing.

Onward from the nostalgia however, and what is actually on offer with this release. A spectacular reworking of classic songs highlighting New Order’s very best, mixed with the more obscure numbers across an eighteen strong cycle. Along with the four members (minus Peter Hook sadly), there is the added dynamic from the 12-strong synthesiser ensemble from the Royal Northern College of Music. Along with visual artist Liam Gillick and arranger/collaborator Joe Duddell, there is something truly electrifying brought into that well honed sound, a fresh take on old standards. For example, included on So It Goes.. for the first time in three decades New Order perform the Joy Division masterwork “Disorder”, along with “Heart And Soul” and “Decades”. The songs have a new life injected into their well-known construction, that wall of synth is an inspired idea as it fires a new life into the body of the band.

With the old material, there is a showcase of newer offerings, stretching to 2015’s “Plastic” from Music Complete. Standouts are “Ultraviolence” from Power, Corruption & Lies, and the Low-Life track “Sub-Culture” which displays the full ambient power of the Royal Northern College of Music. An assaulting piece of work that will send shivers through the spine of the most stone-hearted of us. “Bizarre Love Triangle” (Brotherhood) and “Vanishing Point” (Technique) take on a new dimension here, which at times eclipses the album standards. But, it is also a point worth noting that the band has not gone for the usual song choices or even most popular. For example, there is no obvious inclusions of “Blue Monday”, “True Faith” or even “Love Will Tear Us Apart”. Instead, this is a release for fans of the band, newcomers will lose part of the atmospheric enjoyment. ∑(No,12k,Lg,17Mif) New Order + Liam Gillick: So it goes.. is in truth a celebration of the achievements over the last forty-years of New Order, and one which bursts with appeal and sentimental movements.

CD Track Listing:

Times Change (Live at MIF)
Who’s Joe (Live at MIF)
Dream Attack (Live at MIF)
Disorder (Live at MIF)
Ultraviolence (Live at MIF)
In A Lonely Place (Live at MIF)
All Day Long (Live at MIF)
Shellshock (Live at MIF)
Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (Live at MIF)
Subculture (Live at MIF)
Bizarre Love Triangle (Live at MIF)
Vanishing Point (Live at MIF)
Plastic (Live at MIF)
Your Silent Face (Live at MIF)
Decades (Live at MIF)
Elegia (Live at MIF)
Heart & Soul (Live at MIF)
Behind Closed Doors (Live at MIF)