Advertise with The Big Takeover
The Big Takeover Issue #86
MORE News >>
Subscribe to The Big Takeover


Shop our Big Takeover store for back issues, t-shirts & CDs

Follow The Big Takeover

Video Premiere: "Infinity Rope" by The Orange Kyte

The Orange Kyte
10 December 2019

The Orange Kyte – Photo Credit: Mel Yap

We love a slice of rich psychedelia as much as the next music lover. Today we are pleased to present you the premiere of ‘Infinity Rope’, the latest single from Vancouver-based Canadian-Irish purveyors of psychedelic music The Orange Kyte. Lifted from their new Carousel album, the new video created by Kevin Mnz is a trip unto itself.

The new record was recently released on both sides of the Atlantic by Portland-based label Little Cloud Records (US/Canada) and also Cardinal Fuzz (EU/UK). Both of these labels really have their own niche core of dedicated listeners, who really know what they want. Fans of The Dandy Warhols, The Liminanas, Spacemen 3, and The Jesus and Mary Chain ought to reel in delight at this discovery.

This single comes on the trail of the first two previewed from this album – ‘Distractions’ and ‘Masquerade!’ Carousel follows the release of The Orange Kyte Says Yes, released in March 2018, and Grow It Right prior to that in August 2017. This album picks up where the latter release left off, with their signature lo-fi dirty garage psych sound and over-driven vocals with added grooves and hints of post-punk, New Wave, and power pop.

Lyrically abstract, the record explores themes of deviance and duality (‘Masquerade!’), conformity (‘The Modern Day Saints’), procrastination (‘Distractions’), the desire for betterment (‘Infinity Rope’ and ‘Little Death Balloon’) anxiety and addiction (‘Demonstration Garden’), consumerism (‘C.O.P.’), living carelessly (‘Sea of Love’, ‘Captain Ron’), and failure (‘Downfall’).”

Based in Vancouver, The Orange Kyte was founded in 2016 by Dubliner Stephen White (a.k.a. Stevie Moonboots), currently a touring member of Magic Shoppe and previously of Strange Things and Ireland’s House of Dolls. With a revolving array of musicians, The Orange Kyte are purveyors of psychedelic, dream-poppy, shoegazey, droney, andtasty morsels for our audio sensory pleasures.

Mixed and mastered by Josiah Webb of Magic Shoppe, Carousel was recorded over the course of a year. Comprised of ten tracks, there are seven ‘full-band’ songs involving Stephen White (vocals, guitars, bass), Dave Mulvaney (drums), Pierce Kingan (bass, vocals), Mat Durie (keys, guitar), and Matty Reed (sax). There are also three solo recordings, for which Stephen was joined on drums by Chris van der Laan, who engineered and produced this album.

“Carousel is a garage-psych LP that could only have been created after ‘Grow It Right’ (our lofi singles comp) and ‘The Orange Kyte Says Yes!’. Each of those records were the sound of songwriting experimentation, the main intentions being to improve from release to release, and to allow the project to continuously evolve, and to be a mercurial shape-shifting entity from record to record. From the start, I just wanted to push myself as a songwriter. At the core of the songwriting for Carousel is the desire for each song to have the ability to be performed with just a voice and acoustic guitar if ever the occasion called for it, while also having the ability to be belted out viciously with full band,” says Stephen White.

The Orange Kyte’s garage rock sensibilities have been attracting increased attention, leading to opportunities for the band to play Levitation Vancouver and Desert Daze Festival in Joshua Tree, to tour the west coast with The Babe Rainbow, and to play alongside many of their favourite bands on the psych scene, not to mention ongoing support from Seattle’s KEXP, among other media outlets.

Carousel is out now everywhere digitally across the net and from the artist via Bandcamp. Physically, it is available on 12” pink vinyl from Little Cloud Records (US/Canada) HERE and Cardinal Fuzz (UK/EU) HERE.

Written by Stephen Whites
Produced by Chris van der Laan (Wars/Heavy Steps)
Mixed/Mastered by Josiah Webb (Magic Shoppe)
Stephen White – Vox and guitars (all tracks) and bass (2,6)
Pierce Kingan – bass/vox
Mat Durie – keys, guitar
Matty Reed – sax
Dave Mulvaney – drums
Chris van der Laan – drums (2,6)
Josiah Webb – guitar, tambourine, percussion (tracks 3, 4, 7)

1. Masquerade!
2. The Modern Day Saints
3. Distractions
4. C.O.P.
5. Little Death Balloon
6. Demonstration Garden
7. Sea Of Love / Ocean Of Hate
8. Infinity Rope
9. Downfall
10. Captain Ron

Also steal a sneak preview of their latest few videos: