Advertise with The Big Takeover
Big Takeover #81 Fall 2017
MORE News >>
Subscribe to The Big Takeover


Shop our Big Takeover store for back issues, t-shirts & CDs

Follow us on Tumblr Follow us on Google+

Follow The Big Takeover

Song Premiere: "How Does It Feel To Feel" (US version; Stereo Mix) by the Creation

The Creation; Photo Credit; Courtesy of Numero Group
2 March 2017

The Creation; Photo Credit: Courtesy of Numero Group

The Creation, a key British Invasion psych-rock band, receives a definitive career compilation with Numero Group’s Action Painting, a two-CD/two-LP set due March 17th, which includes four tracks by pre-the Creation quartet the Mark Four. Numero Group has compiled for the first time ever the complete studio recordings of the Creation.

All 42 tracks the group recorded between 1965-1968 have been remastered from the original tapes by producer Shel Talmy, and given fresh stereo mixes where previously unavailable. New essays by music historians Dean Rudland and Alec Palao tell the Creation story, while scores of previously unpublished photographs adorn the accompanying 80-page hardbound book. Numero Group has rounded out the package with four tracks by pre-Creation freak-beat quartet the Mark Four, making Action Painting the definitive collection of this legendary UK band.

The Creation were a dynamic quartet with an equally engaging image. They would burn brightly for just two years, yet would leave an indelible mark upon music history. With Talmy at the helm (The Who, Kinks, Easybeats, Cat Stevens, more), the Creation went on an incredible run of singles, including “Making Time,” “How Does It Feel to Feel,” “Tom Tom,”, and “If I Stay Too Long.”

Over the nearly five decades since, the Creation has seen a tremendous resurgence in interest. First it was the Jam flossing “Making Time” on the inner sleeve of All Mod Cons. A few years later, Alan McGee formed the band Biff Bang Pow and his Creation record label. By the turn of the century, a new generation had discovered the band via a strategic placement in Wes Anderson’s film Rushmore.

One of the Creation’s classics, “How Does It Feel To Feel”, ended up going through another version of its original form before being released. Numero Group’s box set houses both tracks; the original and the never-before-heard ‘stereo mix’ US version.

This version was perfected in six takes, with a tracked “swell guitar” added. An initial vocal was also added at this stage. Most interesting is the fact that Eddie Phillips’ chugging guitar part mirrored the sawing movement of cellos and strings, in a harbinger of the original version.

Phillips recollects, “I was really getting into classical music around this period – Beethoven’s 9th – which accounts for me playing that staccato rhythm. So when Shel [later] had the strings on the [track], I was very pleased.”

After some consideration, Talmy decided to return to the original master take of “How Does It Feel To Feel,” in its first stage prior to its earlier reduction. He had Phillips beef up the sound by overdubbing a loud, clanging guitar across two channels, thereby wiping the wiry sound effects of the earlier take. This was bounced down to another reel, and backing vocals added.

The Big Takeover is extremely proud to premiere the never-before-heard ‘stereo mix’ US version of the Creation’s classic hit “How Does It Feel To Feel”, which closes out disc 1 of the Action Painting box set.

Action Painting tracklist:

Disc 1
1 Making Time
2 Try and Stop Me
4 Biff Bang Pow
5 Sylvette (edit)
6 If I Stay Too Long
7 Nightmares
8 Life Is Just Beginning
9 Through My Eyes
10 How Does It Feel to Feel
11 Tom Tom
12 Can I Join Your Band
13 Midway Down
14 The Girls Are Naked
15 Bonie Maronie
17 For All That I Am
18 Uncle Bert
19 Cool Jerk
20 I Am the Walker
21 Ostrich Man
22 Sweet Helen
23 How Does It Feel to Feel (US version)

Disc 2
1 THE MARK FOUR – Hurt Me If You Will
2 THE MARK FOUR – I’m Leaving
3 THE MARK FOUR – Work All Day (Sleep All Night)
4 THE MARK FOUR – Going Down Fast
5 How Does It Feel to Feel (US version) New stereo mix
6 Biff Bang Pow New stereo mix
7 For All That I Am New stereo mix
8 Can I Join Your Band New stereo mix
9 Through My Eyes New stereo mix
10 Tom Tom New stereo mix
11 Midway Down New stereo mix
12 Nightmares New stereo mix
13 Life Is Just Beginning New stereo mix
14 Painter Man New stereo mix
15 If I Stay Too Long New stereo mix
16 How Does It Feel To Feel (UK version) New stereo mix
17 Cool Jerk New stereo mix
18 Hey Joe New stereo mix
19 Like a Rolling Stone New stereo mix
20 Making Time (backing track) take 1 Previously unissued
21 Sylvette (full length)
22 Instrumental 1
23 How Does It Feel to Feel (version 1) (backing track – Previously unissued


comments powered by Disqus