Advertise with The Big Takeover
The Big Takeover Issue #94
MORE News >>
Subscribe to The Big Takeover


Shop our Big Takeover store for back issues, t-shirts & CDs

Follow us on Instagram

Follow The Big Takeover

Song Premiere: "A Finnish Bedtime Story" / "Electronic Brain" by Pas Musique

Pas Musique - Photo Credit: Chris Carlone
2 January 2019

Pas Musique – Photo Credit:

Today we present you the premiere of not one, but two tracks from the electronic collective Pas Musique. Both songs can be found on their forthcoming album The Phoenix, which is slated for release on March 1st via NYC-based label Alrealon Musique.

The diversity of these two tracks alone is indicative of the wide spectrum of music the group actually covers. Constantly pushing the boundaries of electronic music, their music ranges from trippy to introspective and glitch experimentalism with drone effects. It certainly makes you think and sometimes even feels like it’s telling a story.

From their name, you might think that Pas Musique comes from France. Not so – they are based in Brooklyn, their name translating to “Not Music” in English. If you haven’t heard of them before, a handful of other artists can be cited for reference sake, among them being Faust, Coil, Alien Sex Fiend, and Neu! Their influences include Zoviet France, Faust, Coil, Rapoon and, once again, Alien Sex Fiend.

Founded by Robert L. Pepper in 1995, Pas Musique emerged from Brooklyn, New York as a solo project around abstract sound. Since then it has developed into a collective that has gone through many variations of experimental, electronic iterations.

Today, Pas Musique remain as a four-piece consisting of Jon V Worthley, Michael Durek, Jesse Fairbairn, and Robert Pepper, pursuing the musical elements of electronic, experimental music with Krautrock undertones. Pas Musique have collaborated with many great musicians, including Faust, Rapoon, ZEV, Philippe Petit, HATI, Chester Hawkins, Jim Tuite, and many more.

Comprised of 7 tracks, The Phoenix presents a diverse palette of experimental electronic music – with some tracks flowing and building, while others are packed with industrial crunch and a notable hint of Krautrock.

This album follows up the latest album solely from the collective, Inside the Spectrum, a 2015 limited edition album inspired by space and philosophy. The title track was originally released by Wire Magazine as part of its ‘Wire Tapper’ compilation. In 2018, they also released Composited Reality in collaboration with Rapoon, based on field recordings that originate from Brooklyn, Indonesia, and Newcastle, England.

Pas Musique are a successful touring entity, having performed in 18 countries and all throughout the United States. In fact, The Phoenix was developed during the Pas Musique 2016 Indonesian tour and their 2017 European tour.

“This music was influenced by the experiences we had while during these tours. There are no lyrics but there are vocals, which are improvised sounds,” says Robert Pepper.

“When growing up, I listened to a lot of punk and metal. Most of the time I couldn’t understand what the vocalists were saying unless I read the lyric sheet, but the sounds the vocalists made were amazing. So I try to use the same idea but producing improvised vocal sounds by mimicking the style of punk/metal vocalists.”

Electro-industrial single “Electronic Brain” zips and zaps like neurons firing impulses on all cylinders, getting the messages across to the rest of the body. This is contrasted by lightly biting buzzsaw nicks, much electro-knob-twiddling, and a menacing sonic undercurrent.

“A Finnish Bedtime Story” also pits melody against noise, this time with perky electronic squelches and a peppering of other percussion in opposition to deep cuts of saw-grinding.

The Phoenix will be available for digital download across online stores and streaming platforms. It will also be offered on red vinyl as a limited edition release. Already now, it can be pre-ordered via the label’s Bandcamp.

Peformed by Robert L. Pepper, Michael Durek, Jon V. Worthley, Jesse Fairbairn
Recorded, mixed and mastered 2016-2018
Audio sample on “A Finnish Bedtime Story” is from Kenneth Kovasin ([ówt krì])
Mixed and recorded in Brooklyn at the Pas Musique studio
Mastered By All Real Sound
Released by Alrealon Musique
Catalogue number ALRN082
Original cover photo by Chris Carlone
Record Design by The Glue Mill

1. The Phoenix
2. Miss Globule
3. Electronic Brain
4. Ancient Culture in a Warp Drive
5. Xlalo
6. A Finnish Bedtime Story
7. New Sheriff in Town