Advertise with The Big Takeover
The Big Takeover Issue #93
Top 10
MORE Top 10 >>
Subscribe to The Big Takeover


Shop our Big Takeover store for back issues, t-shirts & CDs

Follow us on Instagram

Follow The Big Takeover

Jen Dan: August 30, 2019


1. *The Menzingers” – “American (You’re Freaking Me Out)”
A lyrically accurate and heart-breaking encapsulation of where we’re at now in the Divisive States of America.
From Philadelphia-based punk rock band The Menzingers
Their sixth studio record Hello Exile arrives on October 4th via Epitaph.

2. Off With Their Heads – “Disappear”
A frustrated/cathartic rager from another rock band in Epitaph’s ever-reliable stable.
New Album Be Good out now (since mid-August).

3. KEYS – “I Only Want You For Your Rock And Roll”
Full-blast romp of garage rock ‘n’ roll energy from Welsh rabble-rousers KEYS.
And even though the tune’s lyrics can be construed as being about pure lust, Matt Evans, the band’s singer, explains that, “I wrote the song on the day I proposed to my wife and it was an early wedding present for her.”
New Album Bring Me The Head Of Jerry Garcia out soon via Libertino Records.

4. Crooked Ghost – “Sinew In Red”
Haunting, restless, atmospheric track with sonic frisson of sustained keys, kinetic drum strikes and cymbals crash, sonorous pulled strings sinuous, and shiveringly anxious male vox turmoil.
From Asheville, NC post-punk band Crooked Ghost.
New EP Colors Bleed out September 20th on their own imprint Crooked Ghost Records.
MY VIDEO PREMIERE of “Sleepwalker”

5. Reduction Plan – “The River”
Richly noir, atmospheric, and flowing track with the glint of guitar chime, ominous bass line, muffled drum thump, shadowy male vocals, and the warm rush of saxophone siren call.
From Queen, NYC post-punk/darkwave band Reduction Plan.
New album (Ae) Maeth out September 20th via Redscroll Records and Dune Altar.

6. Michael Blakeman – “Brazier To The Lake”
Striking synthwave noir track with strict drum hits, effervescent electronic percolation, foreboding organ-like synths press, and emotive to soaring male vocals from Australian singer-songwriter Michael Blakeman.
New Future EP just dropped on August 23rd.

7. Drag Majesty – “Oxycontin*
Sweeping and airy synthwave with sparkling guitar and synths chime, propulsive drum hits, and soft, engaging male vox by buzzed-about mysterious duo Drab Majesty.
New album Modern Mirror came out on July 12th via Dais Records.
INTERVIEW in the Big Takeover mag, issue #80
One of Jack Rabid’s picks for his The Big Takeover Show

8. Gone Sugar Die – “Candy Is A Heartthrob”
Scintillating and infectious, synths-based garage-pop with earworm chorus that comes in at the start and won’t let go long after the song is done. Thumping drum rhythm, edgy guitar grime, glittering synths and electronics, and exclaimed sing-song male vocals.
From Vancouver/L.A.-based synth-punk duo Gone Sugar Die.
New Blaack Heaart EP. out soon.
MY VIDEO PREMIERE of “Candy Is A Heartthrob”

9. Peacock Affect – “Lullaby”
Sonically brisk and dreamy, lyrically fine-tuned and raw, vocally gentle and wistful indie pop from DIY singer-songwriter George Holman hitting his stride on a captivating heart-tugger.

10. Magne F (AKA Magne Furuholmen of a-ha) – “This is now America”
A lyrically accurate and heart-breaking encapsulation of where we’re at now in the Divisive States of America.
At the moment this track is exclusive to Magne F’s official Instagram, and now at YouTube:


More in top-ten